I Do Try to Keep It Away From Him

June 23, 2010

posted and written by Heather McShane

George had been acting ornery. He had jumped over the back porch railing a few times. Even in the rain, he would try to escape. By escape, I mean escape in the sense of explore. George is a cat.

Although George has always been adventurous, I suspected another reason for his actions because I noticed that George was getting fatter and I wondered if the plastic he liked to chew and eat was accruing in his system and causing blockage. I scheduled an appointment with the vet.

I cannot simply carry George (and/or Milo) to the veterinary clinic, even though it is within walking distance. George moves around too much in the cat carrier, making it unwieldy.

So, of course, we befriended people on the short bus ride to and from the clinic. Because, yes, George is alright. He had an expensive adventure, and I got to borrow his X-rays for a few days. (See—he is a little fat.)

Leave a Reply

