MOON!

March 8, 2010

posted by caroline picard

I remember a friend of mine spoke to me once about how he was twelve years old when this photo was released. It was the first view of the earth from outer space–an image we are now relatively accustomed to. My friend went on to theorize that that photographed revolutionized human consciousness as a whole, because suddenly humanity could conceive of itself at a great distance, in a larger visual context, that is from outer space. Pretty remarkable, I think. Maybe the closest thing I can relate to such an experience would be the space of internet–which entered my life in highschool. I still remember my highschool biology teacher explaining how to use search engines. Oddly enough, I think we were all pretty bored. Because I guess that’s just what teenagers do best.

Leave a Reply

