A few words on Halloween in France

November 1, 2009

Last night at Café Lapon, a Finnish restaurant in the 17th Arrondisement, somewhere a few blocks from Place de Clichy, a woman asked me if we celebrate All Saint’s Day in America. I replied that, yes, in a way, but it’s called Halloween. The woman replid, “Well, that’s not really the same thing, is it.” Embued with one or two or several glasses of wine, I took up arms, “It’s the same basic idea, I told her. The same principal.” And being French of course, she was hell bent on making me look like a fool or at least contradicting me endlessly until I relinquished in exhaustion (which of course I had no intention of doing of course) and instead launched into a diatribe about how completely misguided it is to try to conceive American traditions along the same axis as European Traditions.

We don’t have traditions, I said, we have SIMULACRA of traditions. We have greeting cards with jack-o-lanterns. We have plastic child sized broomsticks at K-Mart. We have poisoned fun-sized Mars bars. We have the apocalypse. You… you Europeans, you could never understand Halloween.

kids-halloween-costumes-1

– written and posted by Lily

Green Lantern Press Foreign Correspondent

 

Leave a Reply

