Kanye West writes book

May 27, 2009

Posted by Nick Sarno

 

Back when I lived in New York, I worked at a Barnes and Noble for a while. One afternoon a coworker jabbed me in the ribs and said, “Oh shit, it’s Kanye West.” Kanye West was there. He was short and very clean. He looked kind of like a brand new Smart Car. He zoomed around the art books for a moment and left the store.

 

Now I know why he didn’t buy anything: he hates books. Hates ’em. Says Kanye: “Sometimes people write novels and they just be so wordy and so self-absorbed. I am not a fan of books. I would never want a book’s autograph. I am a proud non-reader of books. I like to get information from doing stuff like actually talking to people and living real life.” 

 

But, despite his hatred of books, Kanye has written one himself. And by written one, I mean he put together 52 pages (“some blank, others with a few words”) of Kanye-isms. And by himself, I mean he wrote it with “marketer/philosopher” J. Sakiya Sandifer.

 

Sandifer’s book Think, Think, Think and Think Again inspired Kanye. “[He did] bullet points in bold graphics, and he expounded upon them … whereas books hide the main points chapters in. You have to read so much to get so much out of it. We wanted to make it simple for people who are non-readers, who don’t feel like doing all that, and still get the point across.”

 

Two more bits that are both kind of funny and kind of sad:

 

One of Kanye’s favorite philosophies in the book is “Get used to getting used.”

“To use someone is necessary. What’s negative is to misuse, overuse or abuse somebody,” West said. “To use is necessary. If you can’t get used, then you’re useless.”

“That really came from my entrepreneurial journey,” Sandifer said. “I would complain when my phone wasn’t ringing. ‘No, I want to be used.’ Being the resident philosopher, I put it in that context.”

 

And, my favorite:

 

While West and Sandifer might make another book, it probably won’t be a sequel to “Thank You.”

“It’s just gonna be another collection of our ideas and theories,” Sandifer said. “It’s not gonna be like ‘Thank You and You’re Welcome Volume Two.’ I think that would be limiting.”

 

Which is kind of like saying: “We’re not going to make a sequel to the Iron Man movie. We’ll just make another movie about Iron Man, where Iron Man does some more superhero-y stuff. It’s not like it’s gonna be Iron Man Part Two or anything. I think that would be limiting.”

 

And Kanye, if you’re reading this: while most novels are wordy and self-absorbed, authors don’t intentionally “hide” main points chapters in. They, you know, try to build arguments. To build an argument, they have to use words. Then, after you’ve read the support for the argument, you can decide for yourself whether it is solid or not.

 

Also, my book would still love to give you an autograph.

 

Also: made you read! Ha ha.

 

Go here and here for the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

