Modern Wing!

May 24, 2009

posted by Meredith Kooi


The Modern Wing!

I visited the Modern Wing at the Art Institute yesterday during its free week, which unfortunately ended today.  First of all, I was extremely overwhelmed by the amount of people in there, so I didn’t really get to visit with the work that much.  Secondly, it is enormous!  So much work, too many people, too little time = exasperation.  I did visit the Twombly exhibition right off the bat.  I really enjoyed his Peony Blossom Paintings especially with the haikus drawn on the canvases.  He uses the haiku written by Takarai Kikaku:

AH! The peonies

For which

Kusonoki

Took off his Armour

The colors are lush and really captivated me.

twombly-07

I made it into the Film, Video and New Media gallery where I was glad to see Steve McQueen’s video Girl, Tricky.  I wondered into the Photography gallery and saw a Barbara Kruger hologram photograph, which I liked very much.  Then, I made my way upstairs into the Contemporary post-1960 galleries – which were unexpectedly larger than I thought they were going to be, and I was able to see a Félix Gonzáles-Torres piece.  No matter what, it’s always feels good walking away from visiting art if you get to see at least one piece that excites.

05_large

Overall, I was really impressed by the building designed by Renzo Piano.  I especially liked how you can see the sky in the main lobby.  It feels really open and instills a generally positive vibration.  However, there is just a ton of work there and it makes it a bit difficult and overwhelming to see everything – it takes multiple trips.  And, since the price of admission has gone up – not good.  I want to see something that takes a big risk in there, but I just don’t really know if that is going to happen anytime soon.  I guess we shall see.

Leave a Reply

