Run (Book Review)

March 23, 2009

Run, Ann Patchett, 2007, HarperCollins.

Just like my last review, this is a book written by an author who wrote one of my top-10 favorite books of all time (in this case, Bel Canto). And, just like my last review, it was a disappointing read. The book centers around a cobbled together family, and some coincidences that bring them together. But I didn’t buy it. I didn’t buy the family and their dynamic, and I didn’t buy the coincidences that brought them together. In case that wasn’t enough, the book also suffers from some un-careful prose, such as “Then the crowd shifted imperceptibly, and opened up a narrow path for Doyle and Sullivan and Kenya to meet them.” If something is “imperceptible” it cannot be perceived. A path, however narrow, is obviously perceptible. Un-careful. I won’t stand for un-careful, anymore than I will for catharsis (see the last review).

I actually like the book in my next review, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, by Junot Diaz.

–Tobias Amadon Bengelsdorf

Leave a Reply

