New York, Part 1: The Armory

March 11, 2009

The Armory Show

*posts on volta, and other art stuffs in NYC will be posted separately*

Young Joon

I got a chance to go to the Armory fair & Volta this past weekend, and there was a lot to look at.  Being the first time I’ve gone to the New York art fairs, I didn’t know what to expect; though I have to say that I held onto the notion that commerce is really at the heart of art fairs’ existence. Since the ’90s (?), they’ve played a very real function in contemporary art–being the primary mode for displaying and dictating the trends of VALUABLE artworks.  I was also really interested in observing how current market conditions are affecting the ubiquity of these fairs–if and how the structures for widespread cultural legitimization/commodification of art will shift.  I’ve yet no declarative sentiments.  Even still, this is very exciting for me. 🙂

I took pictures of some artwork that really captured my attention–be it through the materials, color, or a more ambiguous percieved connection in ideas between myself and the art…

[click on the images for larger versions]

 

img_20681

William Pope.L
Bin (Version 2)
2008
Wood, mirrors, fake fur, rock lamp, metal handle, dvd monitor and playback
36 x 52 x23”
Mitchell-Innes & Nash (New York)

img_20691

Something about this piece feels like home–kinda like something I’d see in Chicago.  I can’t quite put my finger on it–it lacks that veil of seamlessness that many contemporary art objects strive for.  When I look at this piece, I start to develop a narrative of the work’s creation, from the inception of the artist’s ideas, to the compiling of materials, and the way the artist uses what they’ve got, the way they know how, because the artist had to make it when they did–resulting in this wierd, crazy thing that fucks with notions of singular material discourses (is it a painting? video? sculpture?); and it’s so captivating, yet unostentatious.

img_20701

 

img_20721

Andy Coolquitt
21st century aggressive carpet growth
2008
Wood, Carpet, metal , wire, lightbulb, glass
269 x 15 x 15 cm
Galerie Krizinger Vienna

 

 

img_20761Arabella Campbell
Black Painting, 2009
Plastic tarp
48” x 60”
Catriona Jeffries

 

img_20741Loris Cecchini
Gaps (ladder)
2004
polyester resin, paint
Galleria Continua

 

img_03941Marlene Dumas
“Inverted Marilyn” 2008
40 x 50 cm
oil on canvas

K, perhaps I just haven’t seen much of Dumas’s works outside her body of monochrome portraits–but it seems she’s made a huge shift in her painting.  The way she creates this ambiguous space, and her complex, yet understated pallette, and how she physically handles the paint on the canvas–the goops, the brushwork, the finnesse of her hand–it’s all the more powerful to me–here in this very painting.  Blown away…

What did others think of the fairs?

Leave a Reply

