Damien Franco | Flipping Through Sketches

February 28, 2009

posted by Caroline Picard

I found this post a few weeks ago, but now it seems to have been taken down. To that end, I thought I’d direct you to this fellow’s blog and copy and paste what he said about SKETCHES.

Flipping Through Sketches

Posted on December 6, 2008

by Damien Franco

sketches-cover

Often times, as almost every artist I know, I find myself in a creative slump.  Perhaps it’s the area that I  live in.  Midland, TX doesn’t seem to inspire me as a contemporary photographer and that may have to do  with me having grown up here, but it shouldn’t stop me.  Still… I find myself in a creative slump.  I don’t think I’ve taken my camera out in a couple weeks which is rare.  Too many excuses.  Too little time.  Too many excuses.  But even when I don’t find myself capturing images, I still spend time looking at photographs.  Reading  books on photography and art really helps me to cope with these down times.  Currently reading (or rather flipping through): Sketches: Organizing Arts edited by Elizabeth Chodos +  Kerry Schneider
Really enjoying so much about it.  It’s a great insight into the creative minds of arts administrators.

Sometimes I feel like I would be a better curator than an artist.  I guess I’m too hard on myself  sometimes.

Leave a Reply

