National Handwriting Day

January 30, 2009

Posted by Nick Sarno

 

Unbeknownst to me, January 23rd was National Handwriting Day. National Handwriting Day takes place on the 23rd, in conjunction with John Hancock’s birthday. John Hancock was a big fan of writing by hand.

 

Now that I’m aware of the holiday, I have to wonder exactly how much handwriting I did on that day. Probably nothing more than a short grocery list, some strikes through words on my to-do list, and a few random squiggles on the notepad next to my keyboard. The squiggles may or may not be actual writing. I haven’t been able to make them out yet.

 

And I probably wouldn’t have felt bad at all about not handwriting on National Handwriting Day, had I not read this article by Kitty Burns Florey.

Leave a Reply

