Thank you Jesus! Have a Blessed day on this very MERRY CHRISTMAS! #2

December 26, 2008

Now Ladies,

As you may now know, I love stories and ideas in parts.  My girl YJ took the GREs in New York, and it brought me to think about time as an oppressive constraint over one’s experience and agency.  This is my kind of gripe with certain long-ass narrative so-called “video art” in art galleries, why can’t I fucking dictate my own experience of the artwork in my own time??? I wonder how one can digest full ideas–recieve them, process them through one’s own reality, and then apply those ideas to one’s life experiences through one sitting, one viewing, one post?…

Since liberating myself from the closet I continue to reject all forms of oppresion!!  And THAT is why you’re getting three Christmas posts from me, babies.

Anyways, I was in New York last week; between hitting up old haunts of mine, I went to the New Museum, which has become one of my favorite art institutions in America, and I saw Elizabeth Peyton’s work.  This bitch is what–like 2 years older than me and she’s already having a huge museum show…


img_0228


She lectured at the Art Institute a few years back and in response to a question, or rather statement by I think, Lisa Wainwright: “What do you say about the assertion that you perpetuate  unfair socioeconomic hierarchies [white/male/celebrity/financial priviledge] in your work?”

In true socially-isolating-IRRESPONSIBLE-ARTIST form, Peyton had this to say:

“I just paint what’s in front of me. I’m just an artist. I don’t need to justify this.”

Afterwords, bitch promptly ended the Q & A…That’s right! Don’t fuck with her! HAHAHA…DIVA!!! Well even still, at least Peyton’s work lends themselves to being viewed as jpegs–you know I can’t fault a girl who makes love to sexy white mans’, and lets the world download and make love to them to.  Take note ladies: painting can be a form of masturbation and advocates its practice! Ha! OOOoo girl, let me get back to this post–WTF am I going on about…

Okay, well–it really is a shame about JFK Jr.; another lost sexy mans:

img_02201

New York City:Glamour

img_02311


homosexual loving…Girl, you so political! You go girl!

img_0230


Y’know, the best part of the museum was this tucked away installation in a closet sized room by the back stairs…I ferget who it is by, and the experience cannot be translated through the web, much less with my dinky camera-phone.

Alas…


img_0221

I want this shit in my living room, UPGRADE my HOME-THEATER set-up…

img_0227

img_0223

img_0225

Merry Christmas bitches…

xoxo

lil elote


Leave a Reply

